A successful day……in spite of the rain

Today was a busy one!  I started this Tuesday morning like normal……Kate on the bus at 7am and Wade at 8:15.  I surprised myself by getting a bunch of laundry folded and cleaned up the kitchen before my first ride at 9:30.  Gus was scheduled to do his trot sets today, but it was way too wet to ride out back in the hayfield.  I ended up doing them in the outdoor arena instead.   I was really glad to see that his back seemed to be less tight and sore today than it has been in a week or so.    After our warm up we did our 25 minutes of trotting.  Elissa said I need to be able to do most of the trotting while up out of my tack.  The balancing part is pretty easy, but my lower back gets tired after several minutes of it in a row.   I put Gus back outside in his field with his sheet on so that he wouldn’t be such a pig when Dr. Yates came out later to do his passport drawing.

At 10:30 I started with Gezelle.   It was a good first ride, and I think she’s going to be a nice project for the month.

I worked with Murphy on the ground today.  He’s going to be a blast.  We did groundwork and lunging over cavaletties.  I can’t wait to get started with him under saddle tomorrow.

McKinley had the day off.  I have regrettedly decided to put him up for sale, but I  will continue competing him until he is sold.

Buttercup was in her first lesson last night.  Elizabeth said that she did really well, and that she thinks she will work out well in the lesson program.

Dr. Yates came today to work on Gus’s passport drawing and descriptions.  Wow….it’s no wonder more people don’t compete in the FEI levels.  I almost need an administrative assistant to do all of the paperwork!  We got most of it finished.  I just need to get some vaccination information from Dr. Miller’s office and get the passport stamped before I mail it back to the USEF.  I will be so glad to get this part of the show overwith.

Leave a comment