October—-I see the light at the end of the tunnel

October has been a crazy, crazy, month.  I am beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel……but just barely.  This month we have had a skin cancer scare with my son, I have been trying to sell a horse, I have ridden in a jumping clinic with an olympian, I have attended my 20 year class reunion, I have been fingerprinted, I have had an FBI background check,  I have completed a course in first aid and CPR,  I have been a chaperone on a field trip with my daughter’s class, I have been the head coach of a 10 year old soccer team, I have coached my show team at a dressage show, I have taken my eventing team cross country schooling twice, I have completed multiple projects around the farm, I have been camping at Lake Hope, I have attended the World Equestrian Games, I have been preparing my eventing team for the Octoberfest Horse Trial this coming weekend,  I have practiced wrapping Wade in horse leg wraps for his mummy costume,  I have purchased the sheet for Kate’s ghost costume,  and I have been studying like a maniac for my ICP assessment which will happen in Lexington this Thursday.   I am completely exhausted.

For 2 more days I will be studying for my assessment.  On Thursday I will be turning in 2 written tests(each one is 4 typed pages long), taking 1 more written test about safety and professionalism, doing a hands on test about stable management, and teaching 3 lessons in front of assessors such as David and Karen O’Connor,  Brian Sabo, or Phyllis Dawson.  I will be star struck and scared out of my ever livin’ mind.  But it will be over soon.  On friday I will be back in Lexington for the final horse show of the season.  I only hope that I pass my assessment and am in a great mood for my students!

At the end of this coming weekend I will rest.  I may not even get out of bed next Monday.  But there are many miles left to go before I sleep.

Leave a comment